You must be at least 18 years of age and have been a resident of the State of Montana for at least six months. Any criminal convictions per the Montana codes may result in denial of the permit, or any omission of arrests and/or convictions may result in denial of the permit.
It is required by law that you complete a certified firearms safety course before the application is submitted. For example, Hunter’s Safety, DD-214, or any other National Rifle Association Certified Instructed course.
Proof of completion of such courses can be a photocopy of certificate, an affidavit from the entity or instructor that conducted the course, or a copy of any other document that attests to completion of the course and can be certified through contact with the entity or instructor that conducted the course.
View the Concealed Weapon Permit Application Form (PDF) and return the completed form, proof of certified firearms safety course completion, and photo identification to the Department of Law Enforcement at 800 Oak Street, Anaconda, MT 59711.
New Concealed Weapon Permits: $55.00 Renewals: $25.00 You must have exact change or a check. We do not accept credit or debit.